Although the 2011 DTM driver’s championship has already been clinched by Audi’s Martin Tomczyk, the team title is still up for grabs with Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline leading by just 5 points (77 pts) over THOMAS SABO / Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG (72 pts). There’s also the consolation prize of ‘Vice-Champion’ to be decided, which will go to either Mercedes’ Bruno Spengler (51 pts) or Audi’s Mattias Ekström (49 pts).

The DTM finale takes place this coming weekend (October 23rd) at the Hockenheimring and with the regulations changing for 2012, Mercedes has chosen to remind us of their rich and illustrious history in the series, by sharing some images below.

Since 2000, when the DTM series was revived, Mercedes-Benz have won 18 out of the 25 races staged at Hockenheim, which is a win rate of over 70 percent. But Audi’s A4 DTM is none too shabby either – 43 pole positions, 31 fastest race laps, 34 victories and five champion’s titles since its debut in April 2004 at Hockenheim.

Spengler said, “The Hockenheimring is one of my favourite tracks, and the season opener in May went really well for us – it was the second win in my career at the circuit. I especially like the combination of fast corners and slow sections such as the hairpin. This course is technically very demanding and you need good brakes and impressive top speed. It’s a lot of fun racing here. As this is the last race for the DTM AMG Mercedes C-Class, we’re aiming to send our fans home happy with a victory and to win the team championship.”

Audi Sport driver Mattias Ekström spoke of his thoughts before the weekend, “It’s always nice to travel to Hockenheim. It will conclude the season. This time I’m arriving there completely relaxed and will try to deliver a solid performance. I want to clinch another good result before we can look forward to the winter break and the tests with the new A5 DTM.”

So, the gloves are off for what should be a stunning season finale, which will be made even more special by the first display of all 2012 championship contenders on track at the same time – the Audi A5 DTM, the BMW M3 DTM and the DTM AMG Mercedes C-Coupé will all take to the racetrack for some demonstration laps, providing fans with their first taste of what to expect in 2012.

Without further ado, I’ll let you absorb the latest images from Mercedes-Benz showcasing the history of the C-Class DTM.

Mercedes DTM HistoryPaul di Resta, 2010 DTM Champion.

Mercedes DTM HistoryKlaus Ludwig, Champion, 1994 DTM Champion.

Mercedes DTM HistoryMERCEDES GP PETRONAS Formula One car next to a THOMAS SABO AMG Mercedes C-Class at the DTM Festival in Munich, 2011.

Mercedes DTM HistoryBernd Schneider, 2006 DTM Champion.

Mercedes DTM HistoryBernd Schneider, 1995 DTM Champion.

Mercedes DTM History2004 DTM pre-season test in Barcelona.

Mercedes DTM HistoryGary Paffett, 2005 DTM Champion at Hockenheim.

Mercedes DTM HistoryBernd Schneider 1995 & 2000 DTM Champion with the AMG Mercedes CLK and C-Class.